All-Party Parliamentary Group on Local Government

To discuss issues of interest and concern to parliamentarians and councillors about local government.

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Local Government

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Local Government brings together members of the House of Commons and House of Lords with an interest in local government. The Group was established following the 2005 General Election and is one of the leading APPGs, providing regular briefings to local government and contributing to the national political debate on the key issues that impact our sector. Previous meetings have been held with government ministers on a range of topics including housing, the Northern Powerhouse, devolution and social care. Since its inception, the Local Government Information Unit (LGIU) has acted as the Group’s secretariat.

If you would like to be kept up to date on the work of the APPG, please email [email protected].

Current officers

With each new Parliament, the APPG must be reconstituted and new officers were elected on 29 March 2023 as follows:

Vice Chair: Paulette Hamilton MP

Officer: Jack Brereton MP

Officer: Peter Gibson MP

Officer: Greg Smith MP