LGiU & CCLA’s C’llr Achievement Awards 2018

Image: LGiU

LGiU and CCLA’s C’llr Achievement Awards are the only awards celebrating the important work of councillors and the highlight of the year for elected members across England!

This year’s awards took place on Tuesday, 6th November at the Guildhall in the City of London. We were joined by council leaders, chief executives, councillors and stakeholders for an evening of celebration.

Listen to our special episode of LGiU Fortnightly covering the awards night or read our blog post on the winners.

Shortlist 2018: Announced 3rd October

Winners announced 6th November

Community Champion

  • Cllr Steve Criswell – Cambridgeshire
  • Cllr Samata Khatoon – Camden
  • Cllr Mark Wilson – Cumbria
  • Cllr Mahamed Hashi – Lambeth – WINNER
  • Cllr TJ Haworth-Culf – Suffolk Coastal
  • Cllr Daniel Land – Tendring
  • Cllr Celia Hibbert – Wolverhampton

Finance and Transformation Award

  • Cllr Peter Patrick – Babergh (JOINT)
  • Cllr Glen Horn – Mid-Suffolk (JOINT)
  • Cllr Dominic Twomey­ – Barking and Dagenham
  • Cllr Shane Hebb – Thurrock – WINNER
  • Cllr Abi Brown – Stoke-on-Trent

Health and Care Award

  • Cllr Aneela Ahmed – Bradford
  • Cllr Stephen Thomas – Hartlepool
  • Cllr Clare Mosdell – Isle of Wight
  • Cllr Michelle Lowe – SevenoaksWINNER
  • Cllr Marlene Quinn – St Helens

Leader of the Year

  • Cllr Darren Rodwell – Barking and Dagenham
  • Cllr Adam Paynter – Cornwall
  • Cllr Linda Haysey – East Herts
  • Cllr Christopher Akers-Belcher – Hartlepool
  • Cllr Janet Walton – Poole
  • Cllr Roger Lawrence – Wolverhampton – WINNER

Place-shaping and Environment Award

  • Cllr Tim Gwilliam – Forest of Dean
  • Cllr Clive Arthey – Babergh
  • Cllr Noel Brown – Buckinghamshire
  • Cllr Gail Harris – Norwich
  • Cllr Iain Malcolm – South Tyneside – WINNER
  • Cllr Victoria Mills – Southwark
  • Cllr Graham Parker – West Devon (JOINT)
  • Cllr Bob Baldwin ­– West Devon (JOINT)
  • Cllr Judy Pearce – South Hams (JOINT)
  • Cllr Michael Hicks – South Hams (JOINT)

Technology and Digital Award

  • Cllr Angela Tait – Bradford
  • Cllr Ian Bates – Cambridgeshire – WINNER
  • Cllr Liz Fairhurst – Hampshire
  • Cllr Shrobona Bhattacharya – South Cambridgeshire
  • Cllr Nazia Rehman – Wigan

Young Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Lorna Russell – Camden
  • Cllr Jordan Rowse – Cornwall
  • Cllr Tom Coole – Gloucester – WINNER
  • Cllr Jordan Meade – Gravesham
  • Cllr Kelham Cooke – South Kesteven
  • Cllr Beverley Momenabadi – Wolverhampton
  • Cllr Alex Harman – Worthing

About the Awards

Now in its ninth year, LGiU’s C’llr Achievement Awards brings together the brightest and best councillors from across the country, as well as council leaders, other senior local government figures and MPs, for an evening of celebration and networking against the beautiful background of the Guildhall in London.

We promote nominations from June through to September, gathering over 200 entries from councillor colleagues, local MPs and residents. The shortlist is announced in October and the judging panel will convene before the ceremony in November. The winners will be announced on the night by LGiU Chief Executive Jonathan Carr-West.

Our sponsors

This year’s awards are possible thanks to the generous support of our founding sponsors CCLA, who are partnering with us for the 9th year in a row.

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities.  When they began sponsoring the C’llr Achievement Awards they had 22 local authority accounts.  Today they have 426 and this number is growing every month.  They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.

Is your council a member of LGiU?  Councillors and officers of member councils receive Daily News, Policy Briefings, Cllr Magazine and exclusive access to Policy Cafe events. Find out more about membership.


The winner in each category will be chosen by our esteemed judging panel, comprised of senior councillors and officers and the winners will be announced at the awards event on 6th November.

C’llr Achievement Awards 2017: highlights

C’llr Achievement Awards 2017 took place in the Guildhall’s Livery Hall, a beautiful setting that gave the ceremony the prestige that befitted the celebration. We welcomed almost 200 guests from all corners of the England, from Redcar and Bradford to Bristol and Brighton.

We were honoured to have speeches from distinguished local government figures such as Lord Porter, Chair of the Local Government Association, and Martin Vickers MP, Chair of the Local Government APPG. The event received significant social media (#CllrAwards17) and press pickup.

Useful information


C’llr Awards 2017

Past winners

@LGiU  #CllrAwards18