LGiU & CCLA’s C’llr Achievement Awards 2017

LGiU and CCLA’s C’llr Achievement Awards are the only awards celebrating the important work of councillors and the highlight of the year for elected members across England and Wales!

This year’s awards took place on Tuesday 7th November at the Guildhall, London. We were joined by over 200 council leaders, chief executives, councillors and stakeholders for an evening of celebration.

2017 Award Winners

Community Champion

  • Cllr Mohammed Amran – Bradford City Council

iESE’s Finance and Transformation Award

  • Cllr Chris Ready – Wigan Council

Health and Care Award

  • Cllr Susan Little – Thurrock Council
  • Judges’ Special Mention: Cllr Maureen Worby – London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

Leader of the Year

  • Cllr Peter Fleming OBE – Sevenoaks District Council
  • Judges’ Special Mention: Cllr Darren Rodwell – London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

Place-shaping and Environment Award

  • Cllr Alan Clark – Nottingham City Council (in memoriam)

Technology and Digital Award

  • Cllr John Chilver – Buckinghamshire County Council

Young Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Lauren Mitchell – Ashfield Council

Is your council a member of LGiU?  Councillors and officers of member councils receive Daily News, Policy Briefings, Cllr Magazine and exclusive access to Policy Cafe events. Find out more about membership.

See the live Twitter coverage of the evening: #CllrAward17

About the Awards

On Tuesday 7th November 2017 we welcomed 200 of the brightest and best councillors, as well as council leaders, other senior local government figures and MPs, for an evening of celebration and networking against the beautiful background of the Guildhall in London.

We promote nominations from May through to September, gathering over 200 entries from councillor colleagues, local MPs and residents. The shortlist was announced in October and the judging panel convened before the ceremony in November. The winners were announced on the night by LGiU Chief Executive Jonathan Carr-West.

Our sponsors

This year’s awards are possible thanks to the generous support of our founding sponsors CCLA, who are partnering with us for the 6th year in a row.

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities.  When they began sponsoring the C’llr Achievement Awards they had 22 local authority accounts.  Today they have 426 and this number is growing every month.  They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.

The awards are also kindly supported by:

Sponsorship opportunities are still available for individual award categories. Download the sponsorship brochure or speak to Jennifer Glover on 020 7554 2800 or [email protected] for further information.

Judging panel

The winners were selected by a group of judges made up of senior councillors and officers.

  • Cllr Jennie Jenkins, Leader of Babergh District Council
  • Amanda Skelton, Chief Executive of Redcar & Cleveland Council
  • Cllr Georgia Gould, Leader of London Borough of Camden
  • Cllr Richard Wright, Leader of North Kesteven District Council
  • Councillor Ranjit Banwait, Leader of Derby City Council
  • Janet Waggott, Chief Executive of Selby District Council
  • Cllr Mark Crane, Leader of Selby District Council
  • Cllr Sarah King, Chief Whip at London Borough of Southwark

We’d like to thank our judges for kindly giving up their time and for their diligence and thoughtfulness in considering the nominations.


C’llr Achievement Awards 2016: highlights

For the first time since the awards began, C’llr Achievement Awards 2016 took place in the Guildhall’s Livery Hall, a beautiful setting that gave the ceremony the prestige that befitted the celebration. We also doubled the number of guests to 200, while retaining the same informal and convivial atmosphere. Councillors travelled from all corners of the England and Wales in order to attend, from Redcar and Bradford to Glamorgan and Brighton.

We were honoured to have speeches from distinguished local government figures such as Lord Porter, Chair of the Local Government Association, and Baroness Thornhill, Mayor of Watford. The event received significant social media (#CllrAwards2016) and press pickup, featuring on BBC regional radio, Yorkshire Post, Birmingham Mail and others.

Useful information


C’llr Awards 2016

Past winners

@LGiU  #CllrAwards17