Cllr Awards 2022 winners announced 🏆

Running for the 13th year across England & Wales and 5th year in Scotland, these are the only national awards celebrating the vital work of councillors.

Cllr Awards 2022 England & Wales

Discover the winners or watch the ceremony back.

Cllr Awards 2022 Scotland

Discover the winners or watch the ceremony back.

England & Wales

Cllr Awards England & Wales 2022 winners


Community Champion

Cllr Jabba Riaz – Worcester City Council

Cllr Cameron Beart  – Swale Borough Council (Highly commended)

Leader of the Year

Cllr Teresa O’Neill OBE – London Borough of Bexley

Cllr Peray Ahmet – London Borough of Haringey (Highly commended)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Cllr Lewis Herbert – Cambridge City Council

Cllr Hilda Rhodes  – Telford and Wrekin Council

Resilience and Recovery

Cllr Peter McDonald  – South Cambridgeshire District Council

Young Councillor of the Year

Cllr Mariam Dawood – London Borough of Newham

Cllr Josh Babarinde OBE – Eastbourne Borough Council (Highly commended)

Meet our 2022 Cllr Awards England & Wales judges.

This year’s Awards are only possible thanks to the generous support of our founding partners CCLA.

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. When they began sponsoring the Cllr Awards they had 22 local authority client accounts. Today they have over 700 and this number is growing every month. CCLA are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size. | [email protected]


Cllr Awards 2022 Scotland winners


Community Champion

Cllr David Macdonald – East Renfrewshire Council

Cllr Stephen Burns – Renfrewshire Council (Highly commended)

Leader of the Year

As we mark the 5th anniversary of Cllr Awards, councils across Scotland have delivered in the face of the most turbulent and worrying years in recent history. Councillors have been responding to the pandemic, helping residents through the cost of living crisis, supporting refugees, delivering aid in response to the war in Ukraine and helping communities to come together to mourn the death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

In this difficult context, we feel it is essential to take this moment in time to celebrate all local leadership across Scotland. As such, the Cllr Awards will be showcasing and recognising the leadership of each Council Leader in Scotland (those currently in post as well as those serving up to the May 2022 elections) for their remarkable contributions to local government over the last two years.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Bailie Malcolm Cunning – Glasgow City Council (in memoriam)

Resilience and Recovery

Cllr Maureen Chalmers – South Lanarkshire Council

Cllr Chris Cullen – South Ayrshire Council  (Highly commended)

Young Councillor of the Year

Cllr Connor McManus – Midlothian Council


Meet our 2022 Cllr Awards Scotland judges.

Are you a member of LGIU?

Founded in 1983 and now operating as LGIU England & Wales, LGIU Scotland, LGIU Ireland and LGIU Australia, we work for and with local authorities around the world, helping them to serve their citizens more effectively. We provide the unrivalled intelligence and support that local government needs every day and drive forward the ideas and solutions needed to provide sustainable public services in the future. Find out more.

Cllr Awards through the years

24.11.21 lgiu awards

Watch the ceremony: England & Wales 2021

Watch the ceremony: Scotland 2021

Watch the ceremony: England & Wales 2020

Watch the ceremony: Scotland 2020

Cllr Achievement Awards 2019 England

LGIU and CCLA’s Cllr Achievement Awards are the only awards celebrating the important work of councillors and the highlight of the year for elected members across England! Read about them here.

Cllr Achievement Awards 2019 Scotland

LGIU Scotland & CCLA Councillor Awards 2019. Learn more now!

LGIU Fortnightly Special: Winners of LGIU & CCLA Cllr Achievement Awards 2019

This episode, LGIU England hosted our annual Cllr Achievement Awards in London, welcoming councillors from across the country to celebrate the amazing work done by the shortlisted councillors and of course our winners. Listen now

All previous winners

View all of the winners from past years here.

Rules & Judging

Councillors may not nominate themselves and nominations for Town/Parish councillors are not accepted. The full list of Cllr Awards rules can be found here.

The winner for each award will be chosen by our judging panel, comprised of senior local government experts. Our 2021 ceremony programmes for Scotland and England and Wales can tell you more about last year’s judges.

Contact us

For any press enquiries related to Cllr Awards, please contact us.