Register NOW to watch the 12th annual Cllr Awards LIVE

The Cllr Awards, in partnership with CCLA, is the only national awards ceremony that celebrates the vital work of individual councillors across England, Wales and Scotland who make a difference in our communities.

The winners in Scotland were announced on Wednesday, 24 November at Glasgow City Chambers. You can rewatch the live ceremony here.

The winners for England and Wales will be unveiled on Wednesday, 1 December from 6:30-9pm at Camden Council, London. The ceremonies will also be broadcast LIVE to allow you to watch along at home as the results come in.

REGISTER for free to watch the awards LIVE.

Congratulations to all shortlisted councillors and winners!

England & Wales

2021 Shortlist

Community Champion

  • Cllr Kevin Etheridge – Caerphilly County Borough Council
  • Cllr Scott Farley – Hillingdon Council
  • Cllr Anna Firth – Sevenoaks District Council
  • Cllr Bridget Fishleigh – Brighton and Hove City Council
  • Cllr Vick Jenkins – City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council
  • Cllr Kelly Middleton – Telford and Wrekin Council
  • Cllr Aled Richards-Jones – Wandsworth Council
  • Cllr Shaz Saleem – Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council
  • Cllr Bazil Solomon – Swindon Borough Council
  • Cllr Maria Watson – Nottingham City Council

Environment and Sustainability Pioneer

  • Cllr Denise Craghill – City of York Council
  • Cllr Mike Hakata – Haringey Council
  • Cllr Bridget Petty – North Somerset Council
  • Cllr Angeliki Stogia – Manchester City Council
  • Cllr Johnny Thalassites – The Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

Innovation and Service Transformation

  • Cllr Paul Bell – Lewisham Council
  • Cllr David Brake – Medway Council
  • Cllr Lee-Ann Igbon – Manchester City Council
  • Cllr Margaret McLennan – Brent Council
  • Cllr Neil Prior – Pembrokeshire County Council

Leader of the Year

  • Cllr Sam Chapman-Allen – Breckland Council
  • Cllr Shaun Davies – Telford and Wrekin Council
  • Cllr Lynne Doherty – West Berkshire Council
  • Cllr Georgia Gould – Camden Council
  • Cllr Phélim Mac Cafferty – Brighton and Hove City Council
  • Cllr Rachael Robathan – Westminster City Council

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Cllr Marlene Heron – Sutton Council
  • Cllr Sheila Peacock – Haringey Council
  • Cllr Hilda Rhodes – Telford and Wrekin Council
  • Cllr Peter Ruffles – East Hertfordshire District Council
  • Cllr Dale Smith – City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council
  • Cllr Steve Walmsley – Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council

Resilience and Recovery

  • Cllr Mark Canniford – North Somerset Council
  • Cllr Sam Davies – Cambridge City Council
  • Cllr Paulette Hamilton – Birmingham City Council
  • Cllr Parbinder Kaur – Sandwell Council
  • Cllr Abigail Marshall Katung – Leeds City Council
  • Cllr Mohammed Nazam – City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council
  • Cllr Matthew Relf – Ashfield District Council
  • Cllr Hazel Simmons – Luton Borough Council

Young Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Peymana Assad – Harrow Council
  • Cllr Christopher Burden – City of Wolverhampton Council
  • Cllr Dakota Dibben – Gravesham Borough Council
  • Cllr Amy Heley – Brighton and Hove City Council
  • Cllr Adam Jogee – Haringey Council
  • Cllr Rachel Melly – City of York Council
  • Cllr Imogen Payter – Havant Borough Council
  • Cllr Joe Porter – Staffordshire Moorlands District Council

This year’s Awards are only possible thanks to the generous support of our founding partners CCLA.

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. When they began sponsoring the Cllr Awards they had 22 local authority client accounts. Today they have over 700 and this number is growing every month. CCLA are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size. |


2021 Winners 

Champion for Education

  • Cllr Claire Leitch – East Ayrshire Council

Community Champion

  • Bailie Jacqueline McLaren – Glasgow City Council

Leader of the Year

  • Cllr Susan Aitken – Glasgow City Council

Lifetime Contribution

  • Bailie Willie Sawers – Dundee City Council

New Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Jackie McCamon – Dumfries and Galloway Council

Resilience and Recovery

  • Cllr Euan Jardine – Scottish Borders Council

Are you a member of LGIU?

Founded in 1983 and now operating as LGIU England & Wales, LGIU Scotland, LGIU Ireland and LGIU Australia, we work for and with local authorities around the world, helping them to serve their citizens more effectively. We provide the unrivalled intelligence and support that local government needs every day and drive forward the ideas and solutions needed to provide sustainable public services in the future. Find out more.

Rules & Judging
Councillors may not nominate themselves and nominations for Town/Parish councillors are not accepted. The full list of Cllr Awards rules can be found here.

The winner for each award will be chosen by our judging panel, comprised of senior local government experts.

Previous ceremonies

2020 Cllr Awards

2019 Cllr Awards (England)

2019 Cllr Awards (Scotland)

Contact us

For any press enquiries related to Cllr Awards, please contact us.

Previous winners