England & Wales Personal and organisational development



Photo Credit: shaire productions via Compfight cc

After much anticipation, we can now reveal the winners of the 2013 LGiU and CCLA C’llr Achievement Awards. Winners were announced last night at the C’llr Awards Ceremony at the Lord Mayor’s Parlour in Westminster City Hall.

Councillors, council leaders, MPs and the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government, Rt. Hon. Eric Pickles MP, came together to celebrate the fantastic work of councillors across the country.

The C’llr Awards received a record-breaking number of entries this year and judges were impressed by the outstanding quality of the nominations. The following councillors, however, succeeded in beating off stiff competition.


Age UK Award

  • Winner: Cllr Sue Cooley, Manchester City Council


Bruce-Lockhart Member Scholarship – including £10,000 scholarship

  • Winner: Cllr Joe Caluori, Islington Council


CCLA Award for Outstanding Contribution to Financial Performance

  • Winner: Cllr Maurice Jones, Central Bedfordshire Council
  • Highly Commended: Cllr Les Ford, Cheshire West and Chester


Community Champion of the Year

  • Winner: Cllr Jean Stretton, Oldham Council
  • Highly Commended: Cllr Richard Crawford (London Borough of Newham) AND Cllr Janet Gardner (London Borough of Hillingdon)


Judges’ Special Award for Contribution to Local Government

  • Winner: Cllr Paul Bettison, Bracknell Forest Council
  • Highly Commended: Cllr Peter Martin, Essex County Council


Leader of the Year

  • Winner: Cllr Catherine West, Islington Council


Online Councillor of the Year

  • Winner: Cllr David Harrington, Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council


Partnership Achievement of the Year Award

  • Winner: Cllr Philip Atkins (Staffordshire County Council), Cllr Brian Edwards (South Staffordshire Council) and Cllr Roger Lawrence (Wolverhampton City Council)
  • Highly Commended: Cllr Susan Wise, Lewisham Council


Scrutineer of the Year

  • Winner: Cllr Edward Davie, Lambeth Council


Sustainability Champion of the Year

  • Winner: Cllr Clare Feeney-Johnson, South Lakeland District Council


Young Councillor of the Year

  • Winner: Cllr Amanda Chadderton, Cllr Sean Fielding and Cllr Arooj Shah, Oldham Council
  • Highly Commended: Cllr Jake Morrison, Liverpool City Council


More details about our winners will be available in the upcoming April 2013 edition of C’llr Magazine.