England & Wales Press Releases

Shortlist unveiled for LGiU’s 10th annual Cllr Achievement Awards

Nearly 250 nominations received across England and Wales

The LGiU and CCLA are delighted to unveil the shortlist for the 2019 Cllr Achievement Awards.

This year marks the tenth year that the Awards have been showcasing the achievements of councillors across England and Wales. The Cllr Awards are the only national ceremony to celebrate the important work of councillors. These Awards are a uniquely important way to highlight what local councillors do for their communities, a task that so often goes unrecognised.

Competition was extremely tight again this year with nearly 250 nominations received, a record amount for the Awards. Some of the seven categories up for grabs include Leader of the Year, Young Councillor of the Year, Community Champion and Environment and Sustainability Pioneer. A full list of categories is included below.

The full shortlist is available below. The winners will be selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.  Winners will be announced at the Cllr Achievement Awards ceremony taking place on Tuesday 5 November at the Royal Horseguards Hotel in Westminster.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU said:

“For the tenth year, LGiU is proud to honour the hard work of councillors across England and Wales that so often goes unrecognised.

“This year’s shortlist is by far one of the most impressive we have seen to date, showcasing the achievements of the best and brightest councillors up and down the country. These councillors deliver for their communities in increasingly challenging and hostile times alongside severe budget constraints. Despite all of that and more, their determination and resolve has left their communities safer, stronger and healthier, thanks to their efforts.

We would like to congratulate all of those councillors shortlisted and look forward to announcing the winners in November.”


Notes to editors

About LGiU

The Local Government Information Unit (LGiU) is a think tank and membership body with over 200 councils and other organisations subscribing to our networks. We work to strengthen local democracy and put citizens in control of their own lives, communities and local services. For more information, visit www.lgiu.org.

About CCLA

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities.  When they began sponsoring the Cllr Achievement Awards they had 22 local authority accounts.  Today they have over 400 and this number is growing every month. They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.

About the Awards

The LGiU’s tenth annual Cllr Achievement Awards celebrates the amazing work being done by councillors across England and Wales. Past winners can be found here. Rules for the Awards can be found here. Additional information on the Cllr Awards can be found here. Follow #CllrAwards19 for all updates.

2019 Cllr Awards Shortlist

Community Champion

Cllr Raushan Ara – Thanet District Council

Cllr Samata Khatoon – London Borough of Camden

Cllr Mimi Harker OBE – Chiltern District Council

Cllr James Mustoe – Cornwall Council

Cllr Lilian Dodd – Stoke-on-Trent City Council

Cllr Jacky Smith – South Kesteven District Council

Finance and Economic Development

Cllr Kelham Cooke – South Kesteven District Council

Cllr Mike Appleyard – Buckinghamshire County Council

Cllr Mete Coban – London Borough of Hackney

Cllr Keith Onslow – London Borough of Bromley

Cllr Kaya Comer-Schwaz – London Borough of Islington

Innovation and Service Transformation

Cllr Janet Gardner – London Borough of Hillingdon

Cllr Chris Penberthy – Plymouth City Council

Cllr Manju Shahul-Hameed – London Borough of Croydon

Cllr Rob Rotchell – Cornwall Council

Cllr Shrobona Bhattacharya – South Cambridgeshire District Council

Cllr James Halden – Thurrock Council

Leader of the Year

Cllr Darren Rodwell – London Borough of Barking and Dagenham

Cllr Susan Hinchcliffe – City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Cllr Martin Tett – Buckinghamshire County Council

Cllr Barry Lewis – Derbyshire County Council

Cllr Vikki Slade – Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole

Cllr Nesil Caliskan – London Borough of Enfield

Environment and Sustainability Pioneer

Cllr Carla Denyer – Bristol City Council

Cllr Sally Longford – Nottingham City Council

Cllr Sandra Squire – Norfolk County Council

Cllr Clyde Loakes – London Borough of Waltham Forest

Cllr Brenda Burgess – Crawley Borough Council

Cllr Simon Pickering – Stroud District Council

Lifetime Achievement

Cllr Helen Holland – Bristol City Council

Cllr Noel Brown – Buckinghamshire County Council

Cllr Lord Peter Smith – Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Colin Spence – Suffolk County Council

Cllr Mohammed Khan OBE – Blackburn with Darwen Council

Cllr Philip Broadbank – Harrogate Borough Council

Young Councillor of the Year

Cllr David Beaney – Dover District Council

Cllr Mariam Dawood – London Borough of Newham

Cllr Roberto Weeden-Sanz – London Borough of Barnet

Cllr Harry Doyle – Liverpool City Council

Cllr Beverley Momenabadi – City of Wolverhampton Council