England & Wales Press Releases

 Shortlist announced for 2018 Councillor Awards

Media contact: Sophie Willett

Telephone: 07955 376 591

Email: [email protected]

Wednesday 3 October 2018

 For immediate release

 Shortlist announced for 2018 Councillor Awards

The LGiU and CCLA are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2018 Councillor Achievement Awards.

The annual Awards are the only national ceremony to honour the hard work of councillors from across the country that often goes unrecognised.

With nearly 200 nominations, competition was extremely tight this year. The full shortlist is available on our website at lgiu.org/project/lgiu-cclas-cllr-achievement-awards-2018

Some of the nine categories up for grabs include Leader of the Year, Young Councillor of the Year and Community Champion.

Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony, which takes place on Tuesday 6th November at the London Guildhall.

The winners will be selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU said: “We received nearly 200 nominations for the 2018 Councillor Achievement Awards, so it’s a huge achievement to be shortlisted. The shortlisted councillors went above and beyond the call of duty in 2018, making a real difference to their residents.”



Notes to editors

About LGiU

The Local Government Information Unit (LGiU) is a think tank and membership body with 200 councils subscribing to our networks. We work to strengthen local democracy and put citizens in control of their own lives, communities and local services. For more information, visit lgiu.org.

About CCLA

CCLA has a 50 year heritage of managing funds for local authorities and has recently launched the Public Sector Deposit Fund. Designed with guidance from the Local Government Association (LGA), the fund offers local authorities a highly competitive, easy access, low risk cash management solution. For more information, visit www.ccla.co.uk

Cllr Achievement Awards Shortlist 2018

Community Champion

  • Cllr Steve Criswell – Cambridgeshire
  • Cllr Samata Khatoon – Camden
  • Cllr Mark Wilson – Cumbria
  • Cllr Mahamed Hashi – Lambeth
  • Cllr TJ Haworth-Culf – Suffolk Coastal
  • Cllr Daniel Land – Tendring
  • Cllr Celia Hibbert – Wolverhampton

Finance and Transformation

  • Cllr Peter Patrick – Babergh (JOINT)
  • Cllr Glen Horn – Mid-Suffolk (JOINT)
  • Cllr Dominic Twomey­ – Barking and Dagenham
  • Cllr Shane Hebb – Thurrock
  • Cllr Abi Brown – Stoke-on-Trent

Health and Care

  • Cllr Aneela Ahmed – Bradford
  • Cllr Stephen Thomas – Hartlepool
  • Cllr Clare Mosdell – Isle of Wight
  • Cllr Michelle Lowe – Sevenoaks
  • Cllr Marlene Quinn – St Helens

Leader of the Year

  • Cllr Darren Rodwell – Barking and Dagenham
  • Cllr Adam Paynter – Cornwall
  • Cllr Linda Haysey – East Herts
  • Cllr Christopher Akers-Belcher – Hartlepool
  • Cllr Janet Walton – Poole
  • Cllr Roger Lawrence – Wolverhampton

Place-shaping and Environment

  • Cllr Tim Gwilliam – Forest of Dean
  • Cllr Clive Arthey – Babergh
  • Cllr Noel Brown – Buckinghamshire
  • Cllr Gail Harris – Norwich
  • Cllr Iain Malcolm – South Tyneside
  • Cllr Victoria Mills – Southwark
  • Cllr Graham Parker – West Devon (JOINT)
  • Cllr Bob Baldwin ­– West Devon (JOINT)
  • Cllr Judy Pearce – South Hams (JOINT)
  • Cllr Michael Hicks – South Hams (JOINT)

Technology and Digital

  • Cllr Angela Tait – Bradford
  • Cllr Ian Bates – Cambridgeshire
  • Cllr Liz Fairhurst – Hampshire
  • Cllr Shrobona Bhattacharya – South Cambridgeshire
  • Cllr Nazia Rehman – Wigan

Young Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Lorna Russell – Camden
  • Cllr Jordan Rowse – Cornwall
  • Cllr Tom Coole – Gloucester
  • Cllr Jordan Meade – Gravesham
  • Cllr Kelham Cooke – South Kesteven
  • Cllr Beverley Momenabadi – Wolverhampton
  • Cllr Alex Harman – Worthing