England & Wales Press Releases

Shortlist Announced for 2016 C’llr Awards

Media contact: Jen Pufky

Telephone: 07825 617 927

Email: [email protected]


Strictly embargoed until: 00:01 Friday 7 October, 2016



Nearly 200 nominations received from across the UK


The LGiU and CCLA are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2016 C’llr Achievement Awards.  


The seventh annual Awards are the only national ceremony to honour the hard work of councillors from across the country that often goes unrecognised.


With nearly 200 nominations, a record amount for the Awards, competition was extremely tight this year. The full shortlist is available below. Some of the nine categories up for grabs include Leader of the Year, Young Councillor of the Year and Local Trust’s Community Collaborator Award.


Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony, which takes place on Tuesday November 1st against the beautiful backdrop of the Guildhall’s Livery Hall in London. The winners will be selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.


Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU said: “For the past seven years we have been showcasing the incredible work of councillors from across the country. Each year we are blown away by the calibre of entries, and this year is no different.


The 2016 C’llr Achievement Awards shortlist is by far our best yet, surpassing all expectations. These councillors have tackled some of the toughest issues in the country and day in and day out are the ones that are making our communities better places to live. We are so pleased to honour their achievements and look forward to announcing the winners next month.”


Ben Hughes, Interim Chief Executive of Local Trust, said: “This is the first time the prestigious C’llr Awards have sought out councillors who actively collaborate with local residents. The shortlist shows there is an appetite among councillors to pioneer exciting new ways of working with residents and communities. We’ve seen this happen in Big Local areas where it has led to some inspiring ideas that could not have come about without collaboration.”




Notes to editors


About LGiU

The Local Government Information Unit (LGiU) is a think tank and membership body with 200 councils subscribing to our networks. We work to strengthen local democracy and put citizens in control of their own lives, communities and local services. For more information, visit lgiu.org.


About CCLA

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities.  When they began sponsoring the C’llr Achievement Awards they had 22 local authority accounts.  Today they have 426 and this number is growing every month.  They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.


About Local Trust

Local Trust is a charity that enables residents and those they trust to create lasting change, supporting communities to ensure resident and community-led transformation of people and places. Local Trust runs the Big Local programme (funded by the Big Lottery Fund), an exciting opportunity for residents in 150 areas around England to receive £1m and a range of support over 15 years to make a lasting positive difference to their communities. Big Local brings together all the local talent, ambition, skills and energy from individuals, groups and organisations who want to make their area and even better place to live.


About the Awards

The LGiU’s seventh annual C’llr Awards ceremony celebrates the amazing work being done by councillors across the country. Past winners can be found here. Rules for the Awards can be found here. Additional information on the C’llr Awards can be found here.


2016 C’llr Awards Shortlist


County Councillor of the Year (including Unitary)

  • Cllr Pete West, Brighton and Hove Council
  • Cllr Barbara Armstrong, Durham County Council
  • Cllr Dick Madden, Essex County Council
  • Cllr Lynn Pallister, Redcar & Cleveland Borough Council
  • Cllr Jeffrey James, Vale of Glamorgan Council

District Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Ida Carmichael, Burnley Borough Council
  • Cllr Gerard Brewster, Mid Suffolk District Council
  • Cllr Edward Turner, Oxford City Council
  • Cllr Timothy Gwilliam, Forest of Dean District Council
  • Cllr Jo Roundell Greene, South Somerset District Council

Parish Councillor of the Year, in association with NALC

  • Cllr Kathy Ford, Saughall and Shotwick Park Parish Council
  • Cllr Derek Lacey, Chesham Town Council
  • Cllr Chris Brown, Cholesbury-Cum-St Leonards Parish Council
  • Cllr Chris Hogg, Kendal Town Council
  • Cllr Vicki Smith, West Wycombe Parish Council


Metropolitan Borough Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Joanne Dodds, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council
  • Cllr Edward Davie, Lambeth Council
  • Cllr Lucinda Yeadon, Leeds City Council
  • Cllr Rachael Robathan, Westminster City Council
  • Cllr Joanne Platt, Wigan Council

Leader of the Year

  • Cllr Jennie Jenkins, Babergh District Council
  • Cllr Sarah Hayward, Camden Council
  • Cllr Mark Crane, Selby District Council
  • Cllr Brian Edwards, South Staffordshire Council
  • Cllr Peter John, Southwark Council
  • Cllr Sharon Taylor, Stevenage Borough Council
  • Cllr Kieran Quinn, Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council


Local Trust’s Community Collaborator Award

  • Cllr Lisa Rutter, Barnet Council
  • Cllr Sarah Judge, Manchester City Council
  • Cllr Andrew Mackness  & Vince Maple, Medway Council
  • Cllr Clare Coghill, Waltham Forest Council
  • Cllr Brian Kenny, Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council


Lifetime Achievement

  • Cllr Roger Frost, Burnley Borough Council
  • Cllr Rodney Bass, Essex County Council
  • Cllr Peter Lewis, Leicestershire County Council
  • Cllr Marion Brighton, North Kesteven District Council
  • Cllr John Marsh, Rushmoor Borough Council
  • Cllr Ann Shaw, Three Rivers District Council


Young Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Aaron Spencer, Boston Borough Council
  • Cllr Fozia Shaheen, Bradford Council
  • Cllr George Hayes, Cheshire East Council
  • Cllr Erin Hill, Kirklees Council
  • Cllr Naheed Gultasib, Walsall Council


Member’s Choice: Communicator of the Year

  • Cllr Karen Lee Duffy, North Tyneside Council
  • Cllr Tunde Ojetola, Thurrock Council
  • Cllr Phil Bateman, City of Wolverhampton Council