England & Wales Press Releases


Local councillors from across Scotland have been celebrated at the LGiU and CCLA Councillor Achievement Awards ceremony. The inaugural awards ceremony was held on Thursday 29 November at Edinburgh’s City Chambers. The Councillor Achievement Awards are the only national ceremony to recognise and reward the efforts of councillors from across the political spectrum.

A total of eight awards were up for grabs this year. The winners were:

  • Caroline Shiers, Perth and Kinross Council for Champion for Education
  • Gavin Corbett, Edinburgh City Council for Environmental Impact
  • Braden Davy, Angus Council for Innovation and Digital
  • Joe Cullinane, North Ayrshire Council for Leader of the year
  • Elaine McDougall, Glasgow City Council for Lifetime Contribution
  • Elizabeth Robertson, Inverclyde Council for New Councillor
  • George Carr, Aberdeenshire Council for Rural Community Champion
  • Linda Erskine, Fife Council for Urban Community Champion

Three councillors’ nominations were so strong they were given a special mention by the judges: James Stockan of Orkney Islands Council nominated for Leader of the Year, Donald Kelly of Argyll and Bute Council Council nominated for Rural Community Champion and Michael Cullen of Glasgow City Council nominated for New Councillor of the Year category.

Speaking at the ceremony, Dr Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive of LGiU, said: “It’s fantastic to hear stories of local councillors working selflessly for the community, bringing real benefits to residents. All the winners demonstrated huge talent and dedication. The outstanding quality of the nominations we received this year stands as a testament to the exceptional job many councillors are doing for their community. The inaugural Scottish Councillor awards have been a huge success.”

More information about the winners is on the LGiU Scotland website: https://lgiu.org/