England & Wales Press Releases

LGIU Statement: Top councillors across England and Wales revealed 

12th annual LGIU & CCLA Cllr Awards celebrate the best of local government

LGIU and CCLA are proud to reveal the winners of the 2021 Cllr Awards, the only national awards to celebrate the vital contributions of local councillors across England and Wales.

This evening, the Awards ceremony took place at Camden Council, 5 Pancras Square, London and was streamed live on YouTube. The top prize of the night, for Leader of the Year, went to Cllr Georgia Gould of Camden Council. Cllr Amy Heley of Brighton and Hove City Council walked away with the Young Councillor of the Year prize and Cllr Paulette Hamilton of Birmingham City Council claimed the (new for 2021) Resilience and Recovery Award. Cllr Kevin Etheridge of Caerphilly County Borough Council was honoured with the Community Champion Award and Cllr Sheila Peacock of Haringey Council was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award for her service. The full list of winners is included below and online here.

The annual Cllr Awards is now in its 12th year and has continued to celebrate the best of local government. As communities continue to recover from the pandemic, these Awards are a hugely important way to champion what local councillors do for their communities.

Competition was particularly tight this year with over 400 nominations received. The winners were selected by a group of judges that included senior councillors and leading stakeholders from across the sector. A link to re-watch the Awards is available HERE.

This year’s Awards were made possible thanks to the generous support of founding partners CCLA.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGIU said: “We are incredibly proud to unveil the winners of this year’s Cllr Awards. These councillors showcase the best of local government across England and Wales.

During a time when our communities have experienced unprecedented challenges and pressures, these councillors are paving the way towards recovery.

I would like to extend a huge congratulations to all of tonight’s Cllr Awards winners.  We thank you for your service and look forward to hearing about your continued accomplishments in the future.”

Kelly Watson, Relationship Manager for Local Government, CCLA, said:  “We are extremely proud to be the founding partner of the Cllr Awards, working together with LGIU. This is a fantastic opportunity to recognise and honour those leading across local government. Local government has delivered in so many ways for communities across the country and we are honoured to stand alongside them.

The hard work done by councillors and council leaders behind the scenes hardly ever reaches the public eye. This is an opportunity for us to set aside a small amount of time to celebrate those achievements.”



Notes to editors

About LGIU

The Local Government Information Unit (LGIU) is a think tank and membership body with over 200 councils and other organisations subscribing to our networks. We work to strengthen local democracy and put citizens in control of their own lives, communities and local services. For more information, visit www.lgiu.org.

About CCLA

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. When they began sponsoring the Cllr Awards they had 22 local authority client accounts. Today they have over 700 and this number is growing every month. CCLA are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size. ccla.co.uk | [email protected]


About Cllr Awards

The LGIU and CCLA’s 12th annual Cllr Awards celebrate the vital work being done by councillors across England. Past winners of the Awards can be found here. Rules for the nomination, shortlisting and selection process can be found here. Follow #CllrAwards for all updates.


2021 Cllr Awards Winners


Community Champion

Cllr Kevin Etheridge – Caerphilly County Borough Council

Cllr Vick Jenkins – City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council – Highly commended 


Environment and Sustainability Pioneer

Cllr Angeliki Stogia – Manchester City Council


Innovation and Service Transformation

Cllr Paul Bell – Lewisham Council


Leader of the Year

Cllr Georgia Gould – Camden Council


Lifetime Achievement 

Cllr Sheila Peacock – Haringey Council


Resilience and Recovery

Cllr Paulette Hamilton – Birmingham City Council

Cllr Mohammed Nazam – City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council – Highly commended 


Young Councillor

Cllr Amy Heley – Brighton and Hove City Council

Cllr Peymana Assad – Harrow Council – Highly commended 

Cllr Christopher Burden – City of Wolverhampton Council – Highly commended