Scotland Press Releases

LGIU Statement: Scotland’s top councillors revealed 

Scotland’s top councillors revealed

3rd annual LGIU Scotland & CCLA Cllr Awards ceremony goes virtual 

LGIU Scotland and CCLA are proud to reveal the winners of the 2020 Cllr Awards, the only national awards to celebrate the vital contributions of councillors.

This evening, at a virtual Awards ceremony, the top prize of the night for Leader of the Year went to Cllr Jenny Laing of Aberdeen City Council. To recognise local government’s response to the Covid-19 pandemic, a new Covid-19 Hero Award was given to Cllr Eva Murray of Glasgow City Council. Cllr Mark Horsham of South Lanarkshire Council walked away with the New Councillor of the Year prize and Cllr Stephen Burns of Renfrewshire Council and Cllr Glen Reid of Aberdeenshire Council were honoured with the Community Champion Award. Cllr Eileen Logan of South Lanarkshire Council was given a Lifetime Achievement Award for her service. The full list of winners is included below.

For the 3rd year running, these Awards have showcased the best of local government. At a time when the country faces one of the greatest hardships of our lifetime, now, more than ever, we need to honour these unsung heroes of local government who are working tirelessly to keep the country afloat during the pandemic.

The winners were decided by a panel of judges composed of senior councillors and leading stakeholders from across the sector. Competition was especially tight again this year with over 100 nominations received, a record amount for the Awards. A link to re-watch the Awards is available HERE.

This year’s Awards were made possible thanks to the generous support of founding partners CCLA.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGIU Scotland said: We are incredibly proud to unveil the winners of the 2020 Cllr Awards this evening.

These councillors showcase the best of local government, those who have gone above and beyond to serve their communities during a hugely challenging 2020. Throughout the Covid-19 pandemic we have turned to local government to bring us the place-specific leadership and support for which they are renowned and they have once again delivered.

The winners are all outstanding examples of a councillor’s commitment to their communities – a commitment that has especially shone through this year. Being closest to the people, councillors are vital to ensuring that communities can thrive during periods of hardship.

Thank you for your service this year and a huge congratulations to all of tonight’s Cllr Awards winners. We look forward to hearing about your continued accomplishments in the future.”

Heather Lamont, Director of Client Investments at CCLA, said:  “We are proud to be the founding partner of the Cllr Awards. Working together with LGIU Scotland for the third year running, we always look forward to taking the opportunity to recognise and honour those leading across local government. This year has given the Awards new meaning. Local government has stepped up to the plate to deliver for communities across the country this year and we are honoured to stand alongside them.

Life as a councillor can be extremely rewarding – being at the forefront of positive community change. But of course, it’s also extremely hard work, particularly in the current context.

The hard work done by councillors and council leaders behind the scenes to negotiate the best outcomes for their communities often never reaches the public eye. Which is why we think it’s invaluable to set aside an evening each year to celebrate those achievements.”


Notes to editors

About Cllr Awards

The LGIU Scotland and CCLA’s annual Cllr Awards celebrate the vital work being done by councillors across Scotland. Past winners of the Awards can be found here. Rules for the nomination, shortlisting and selection process can be found here. Follow #CllrAwards for all updates.


About LGIU Scotland

LGIU Scotland is a policy information service dedicated to local government across Scotland. We work to inform our members by providing practical, up-to-the-minute intelligence on policy issues. Our services help public servants make policy, support residents and work more effectively with colleagues. Our members include councils, charities, central government and public sector partners. All share a commitment to providing the best possible local government services for citizens.

About CCLA

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. When they began sponsoring the Cllr Awards they had 22 local authority accounts. Today they have over 700 and this number is growing every month. They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.

2020 Cllr Awards Winners

Champion for Education

  • Cllr Dr Soryia Siddique – Glasgow City Council

Collaborative Working

  • Cllr Laura Brennan-Whitefield – South Ayrshire Council (joint)
  • Cllr Siobhian Brown – South Ayrshire Council (joint)

Covid-19 Hero

  • Cllr Eva Murray – Glasgow City Council
  • Special commendation: Bailie Philip Braat – Glasgow City Council

Leader of the Year

  • Cllr Jenny Laing – Aberdeen City Council

Lifetime Contribution

  • Cllr Eileen Logan – South Lanarkshire Council

New Councillor of the Year

  • Cllr Mark Horsham – South Lanarkshire Council
  • Special commendation: Cllr Kenneth Duffy – North Lanarkshire

Community Champion

  • Cllr Stephen Burns – Renfrewshire Council
  • Cllr Glen Reid – Aberdeenshire Council

City Community Champion

  • Cllr Lynne Short – Dundee City Council

About the Award categories

Champion for Education: for councillors who have performed outstanding work in the field of education

Collaborative Working: to celebrate a group of councillors who have worked effectively together to undertake a new project, implement a new process or better-scrutinise council proceedings

Covid-19 Hero: to celebrate a councillor who has championed their local community during the pandemic

Leader of the Year: to celebrate the work of an exceptional Council Leader

Lifetime Contribution: for councillors who have gone above and beyond for their communities over an extended period of time

New Councillor of the Year: for recently elected councillors who are already making a noticeable impact in their communities in a short time

Community Champion: for councillors in predominantly rural constituencies who have gone above and beyond in supporting their communities

City Community Champion: for councillors in predominantly urban constituencies who have gone above and beyond in supporting their communities