LGIU Statement: Scotland’s top councillors revealed 

4th annual LGIU Scotland & CCLA Cllr Awards celebrate the best of local government

LGIU Scotland and CCLA are proud to reveal the winners of the 2021 Cllr Awards, the only national awards to celebrate the vital contributions of local councillors across Scotland.

This evening, the Awards ceremony took place at Glasgow City Chambers and was streamed live on YouTube. The top prize of the night, for Leader of the Year, went to Cllr Susan Aitken of Glasgow City Council. Cllr Jackie McCamon of Dumfries and Galloway Council walked away with the New Councillor of the Year prize and Cllr Euan Jardine of the Scottish Borders Council claimed the (new for 2021) Resilience and Recovery Award. Bailie Jacqueline McLaren of Glasgow City Council was honoured with the Community Champion Award and Bailie Willie Sawers of Dundee City Council was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award for his service. The full list of winners is included below.

The annual Cllr Awards is now in its 4th year and has continued to celebrate the best of local government. As communities continue to recover from the pandemic, these Awards are a hugely important way to champion what local councillors do for their communities.

Competition was particularly tight this year with close to 100 nominations received. The winners were selected by a group of judges that included senior councillors and leading stakeholders from across the sector. A link to re-watch the Awards is available HERE.

This year’s Awards were made possible thanks to the generous support of founding partners CCLA.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGIU Scotland said: “We are incredibly proud to unveil the winners of this year’s Cllr Awards. These councillors showcase the best of local government across Scotland.

During a time when our communities have experienced unprecedented challenges and pressures, these councillors are paving the way towards recovery.

I would like to extend a huge congratulations to all of tonight’s Cllr Awards winners.  We thank you for your service and look forward to hearing about your continued accomplishments in the future.”

Heather Lamont, Director of Client Investments at CCLA, said:  “We are extremely proud to be the founding partner of the Cllr Awards, working closely together with LGIU. This is a fantastic opportunity to recognise and honour those leading across local government. Local government has delivered in so many ways for communities across the country and we are honoured to stand alongside them.

The hard work done by councillors and council leaders behind the scenes hardly ever reaches the public eye. This is an opportunity for us to set aside a small amount of time to celebrate those achievements.”


Notes to editors

About Cllr Awards

The LGIU Scotland and CCLA annual Cllr Awards celebrate the vital work being done by councillors across Scotland. Past winners of the Awards can be found here. Rules for the nomination, shortlisting and selection process can be found here. Follow #CllrAwards for all updates.

About LGIU Scotland

LGIU Scotland is a policy information service dedicated to local government across Scotland. We work to inform our members by providing practical, up-to-the-minute intelligence on policy issues. Our services help public servants make policy, support residents and work more effectively with colleagues. Our members include councils, charities, central government and public sector partners. All share a commitment to providing the best possible local government services for citizens.

About CCLA

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. When they began sponsoring the Cllr Awards they had 22 local authority client accounts. Today they have over 700 and this number is growing every month. CCLA are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size. | [email protected]

2021 Cllr Awards Winners

Champion for Education

Cllr Claire Leitch – East Ayrshire Council

Cllr Frank McNally – North Lanarkshire Council – Special commendation

Community Champion

Bailie Jacqueline McLaren – Glasgow City Council

Cllr David MacDonald – East Renfrewshire Council – Special commendation

Leader of the Year

Cllr Susan Aitken – Glasgow City Council

Lifetime Contribution

Bailie Willie Sawers – Dundee City Council

New Councillor of the Year

Cllr Jackie McCamon – Dumfries and Galloway Council

Cllr Kris Chapman – Scottish Borders Council  – Special commendation

Resilience and Recovery

Cllr Euan Jardine – Scottish Borders Council