England & Wales Press Releases

Councillor Awards Shortlist

You can also view this press release as a pdf. 

Media contact:
Jen Pufky

07825 617 927

[email protected]

Shortlist announced for 2015 C’llr Awards

Nearly 200 nominations received from across the UK

The LGiU and CCLA are delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2015 C’llr Achievement Awards.

The sixth annual Awards are the only national ceremony to honour the hard work of councillors from across the country that often goes unrecognised.

With nearly 200 nominations, a record amount for the Awards, competition was extremely tight this year. The full shortlist is available on our website here and below.

Some of the ten categories up for grabs include Leader of the Year, Young Councillor of the Year and Community Champion.

Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony, which takes place on Monday 2nd March at the Lord Mayor’s Parlour, Westminster City Council.

The winners will be selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.

Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU
said: “After receiving a record number of nominations for the 2015 C’llr Achievement Awards we are delighted to unveil our shortlist of
councillors and showcase their outstanding efforts.”

“In a time of austerity, these councillors are in the trenches, innovating and improving the way local government works. We are delighted to recognise their work and look forward to announcing the winners next month.”


 Notes to editors

About LGiU

The Local Government Information Unit (LGiU) is a think tank and membership body with 200 councils subscribing to our networks. We work to strengthen local democracy and put citizens in control of their own lives, communities and local services. For more information, visit lgiu.org.

About CCLA

CCLA has a 50 year heritage of managing funds for local authorities and has recently launched the Public Sector Deposit Fund. Designed with guidance from the Local Government Association (LGA), the fund offers local authorities a highly competitive, easy access, low risk cash management solution. For more information, visit http://www.psdf.co.uk.

Young Councillor

  • Cllr Lyle Davy, Pendle Borough Council,
  • Cllr Seyi Akiwowo, London Borough of Newham,
  • Cllr John Blundell, Rochdale Metropolitan Borough Council,
  • Cllr Alex Ross-Shaw, Bradford City Council,
  • Cllr Sam Rowlands, Conwy County Borough Council


  • Cllr Michael Jones, Cheshire East Council
  • Cllr David Burbage, Royal Borough of Windsor & Maidenhead
  • Cllr Paul Watkins, Dover District Council
  • Cllr Thomas Beattie, Corby Borough Council
  • Cllr Tudor Evans, Plymouth City Council
  • Cllr Grant Davey, Northumberland County Council


  • Cllr Val Gibson, Wolverhampton City Council
  • Cllr Melvyn Kaplan, Westminster City Council
  • Cllr Gavin Evans, London Borough of Southwark
  • Cllr Mark Healey, Somerset County Council
  • Cllr David Brown, Cambridgeshire County Council

Judges Special Award

  • Cllr Jason Kitcat, Brighton & Hove City Council
  • Cllr Cyril Weber, Carlisle City Council
  • Cllr Robert Davis, Westminster City Council
  • Cllr Ken Lupton, Stockton-on-Tees Council
  • Cllr Jim Dickson, London Borough of Lambeth


  • Cllr Dale Birch, Bracknell Forest Council
  • Cllr Neil Foster, Durham County Council
  • Cllr Adam Ogilvie, Leeds City Council
  • Cllr Ellie Robinson, London Borough of Newham
  • Cllr Janet Daby, London Borough of Lewisham

Community Champion

  • Cllr Elias Mattu, Wolverhampton City Council
  • Cllr Jackie Meldrum, London Borough of Lambeth
  • Cllr Steve Criswell, Cambridgeshire County Council
  • Cllr Bally Singh, Coventry City Council
  • Cllr Rachel Robothan, Westminster City Council
  • Cllr Dinah Keal, Ryedale District Council

Local Growth

  • Cllr Colin Davie, Lincolnshire County Council
  • Cllr Kevin Bentley, Essex County Council
  • Cllr Ann Lucas, Coventry City Council
  • Cllr Bob Price, Oxford City Council
  • Cllr Kim Groves, Leeds City Council
  • Matthew Barber, Vale of White Horse District Council


  • Cllr Paul McGlone, London Borough of Lambeth
  • Cllr Rachael Bailey, Cheshire East Council
  • Cllr Mark Bee, Suffolk County Council
  • Cllr Darren Clifford, Lancashire County Council
  • Cllr Kim Botting, London Borough of Bromley


  • Cllr Patricia Douglas, Bassetlaw District Council
  • Cllr Gordon Nicholson OBE, Eden District Council
  • Cllr Don Stockton, Cheshire East Council
  • Cllr Brian Clarke, Cheshire West & Chester
  • Cllr Martyn Rawlinson, Preston City Council

Bruce-Lockhart Shortlist

  • Cllr Theo Blackwell, London Borough of Camden
  • Cllr Kilian Bourke, Cambridgeshire County Council
  • Cllr Richard Holloway, Westminster City Council
  • Cllr Edward Davie, London Borough Council