England & Wales, Scotland Press Releases

2022 Cllr Awards shortlists unveiled

2022 Cllr Awards shortlists unveiled

Nearly 500 nominations received across England, Wales and Scotland


The LGIU/LGIU Scotland and CCLA are proud to announce the shortlist for the 2022 Cllr Awards, showcasing the achievements of councillors across England and Wales for the 13th year running and the 5th year running in Scotland.


The Cllr Awards are the only national ceremony to celebrate the vital contributions of councillors across England, Wales and Scotland. These Awards are a hugely important way to champion what councillors do locally as their work can, all too often, go unrecognised.


Competition was extremely tight again this year with nearly 500 nominations received across the categories that celebrate the varied work of councillors. The categories up for grabs this year are:  Community Champion, Leader of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Resilience and Recovery and Young Councillor of the Year awards. The full shortlists are included below.


A panel of judges composed of senior councillors and leading stakeholders from across the sector will select the winners who will be revealed at the Cllr Awards ceremonies taking place on Wednesday 12 October in Dundee and Thursday 20 October in Bath. The ceremonies will also be broadcast live on YouTube.  Sign up to watch the ceremony live or request an invitation to attend the ceremony in-person.


This year’s awards are made possible thanks to the generous support of founding partners CCLA.


Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGIU/LGIU Scotland said:  “In a year like no other, councillors up and down the country have once again been working tirelessly to address the needs of their residents and bring much needed leadership to communities that are struggling day in and day out.


The 2022 Cllr Awards shortlist is a reflection of the dedication and resilience shown by councillors during some of the most turbulent and worrying years in recent history.


From supporting communities through flooding emergencies and fires to welcoming refugees from Ukraine into our local communities, these councillors are some of the most committed elected representatives across England, Wales and Scotland. We are incredibly proud to showcase their stories in this year’s shortlist.


Congratulations to all of the shortlisted councillors. We look forward to unveiling the winners next month.”




Notes to editors


About Cllr Awards

The LGIU and CCLA’s annual Cllr Awards celebrate the vital work being done by councillors across England, Wales and Scotland. Past winners of the Awards can be found here. Rules for the nomination, shortlisting and selection process can be found here. Follow #CllrAwards for all updates.


About LGIU

The LGIU – Local Government Information Unit – is a not-for-profit, non-partisan membership organisation. We are for local government and anyone with an interest in local democracy and finding local solutions to the challenges that we all face. Our resources, innovative research and connections are relied on by colleagues across the globe.


About CCLA

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. When they began sponsoring the Cllr Awards they had 22 local authority accounts. Today they have over 700 and this number is growing every month. They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.


2022 Cllr Awards Shortlist – Scotland

*A photo and brief biography for each of the shortlisted councillors is available upon request.


Community Champion

Cllr Stephen Burns – Renfrewshire Council

Cllr Neill Graham – Renfrewshire Council

Cllr David Macdonald – East Renfrewshire Council

Cllr Uisdean Robertson – Comhairle nan Eilean Siar

Cllr Ann Ross – Aberdeenshire Council


Leader of the Year

As we mark the 5th anniversary of Cllr Awards, councils across Scotland have delivered in the face of the most turbulent and worrying years in recent history. Councillors have been responding to the pandemic, helping residents through the cost of living crisis, supporting refugees, delivering aid in response to the war in Ukraine and helping communities to come together to mourn the death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.


In this difficult context, we feel it is essential to take this moment in time to celebrate all local leadership across Scotland. As such, the Cllr Awards will be showcasing and recognising the leadership of each Council Leader in Scotland (those currently in post as well as those serving up to the May 2022 elections) for their remarkable contributions to local government over the last two years.


Lifetime Achievement 

Bailie Malcolm Cunning – Glasgow City Council (in memoriam)

Cllr Donald Moffat – Scottish Borders Council


Resilience and Recovery

Cllr Maureen Chalmers – South Lanarkshire Council

Cllr Chris Cullen – South Ayrshire Council

Cllr Katie Hagmann – Dumfries and Galloway Council

Cllr Pauline Munro – Highland Council

Cllr Fay Sinclair – Scottish Borders Council


Young Councillor

Cllr Max Mitchell – City of Edinburgh Council

Cllr Connor McManus – Midlothian Council


2022 Cllr Awards Shortlist – England & Wales

*A photo and brief biography for each of the shortlisted councillors is available upon request.


Community Champion

Cllr Cameron Beart  – Swale Borough Council

Cllr Kira Gabbert – Bromley Council

Cllr Susan Goodchild – Central Bedfordshire Council

Cllr Jabba Riaz – Worcester City Council

Cllr Bazil Solomon – Swindon Borough Council


Leader of the Year

Cllr Peray Ahmet – London Borough of Haringey Council

Cllr Ian Brookfield – City Of Wolverhampton Council

Cllr Ruth Dombey – London Borough of Sutton Council

Cllr Barry Lewis – Derbyshire County Council

Cllr Teresa O’Neill OBE – London Borough of Bexley Council


Lifetime Achievement 

Cllr Hazel Bassadone – Dacorum Borough Council

Cllr Lewis Herbert – Cambridge City Council

Cllr Allan Morris – Newport City Council

Cllr Hilda Rhodes  – Telford and Wrekin Council

Cllr Ian Wingfield –  London Borough of Southwark Council


Resilience and Recovery

Cllr Marion Atkinson –  Sefton Council

Cllr Rosa Gomez – Redbridge London Borough Council

Cllr Peter McDonald  – South Cambridgeshire District Council

Cllr Alistair McNair – Brighton and Hove City Council

Cllr Oliver Monk – Cornwall Council

Cllr Bernie O’Neill – Forest of Dean District Council

Cllr Nazma Rahman – Camden London Borough Council


Young Councillor

Cllr Josh Babarinde OBE – Eastbourne Borough Council

Cllr Chris Burden – City of Wolverhampton Council

Cllr Adam Davies –  Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council

Cllr Mariam Dawood – Newham London Borough Council

Cllr Chris Jarvis  – Oxford City Council

Cllr Nabeela Mowlana – Sheffield City Council