2019 Scotland Councillor Award Winners Unveiled



Councillors honoured for their outstanding leadership


LGiU Scotland and CCLA are delighted to unveil the winners of the 2019 Councillor Awards, the only national awards ceremony to celebrate the achievements of individual councillors across Scotland. 


This evening, at the Edinburgh City Chambers, the top prize for Leader of the Year went to Cllr John Alexander of Dundee City Council. Cllr Joe Fagan of South Lanarkshire Council walked away with the New Councillor of the Year prize and Cllr Chris Cullen of South Ayrshire Council was honoured with the Urban Community Champion Award. This year’s Champion for Education was Cllr Fay Sinclair of Fife Council. Cllr Robert Aldridge of City of Edinburgh Council was given the Lifetime Contribution Award. The full list of winners is included below.


This year marks the second year that the Awards have been showcasing the achievements of councillors across Scotland. Competition was extremely tight again this year with nearly 100 nominations received, a record amount for the Awards. The winners were selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.


Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU said: “Tonight, we are incredibly proud to unveil this year’s Councillor Award winners, a group of individuals who truly showcase the best of local government. 

Their work to make our communities safer, stronger and healthier so often goes unrecognised. That is why it is important that we honour them this evening.

We would like to thank all of the winners tonight and those shortlisted for their commitment to local government. We look forward to hearing more about their continued accomplishments in the future.”



Notes to editors


About LGiU Scotland

LGiU Scotland is a policy information service dedicated to local government across Scotland. We work to inform our members by providing practical, up-to-the-minute intelligence on policy issues. Our services help public servants make policy, support residents and work more effectively with colleagues. Our membership includes councils, charities, central government and public sector partners united by their interest in, and commitment to, providing the best possible local government services for citizens. 


About CCLA

CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. Today, they have over 400 local authority accounts and this number is growing every month.  They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.


About Councillor Awards

LGiU Scotland’s second annual Councillor Awards ceremony celebrates the amazing work being done by councillors across Scotland. Past winners of the Awards can be found here. Tweets about the Scottish Councillor Awards can be found at #ScotCouncillorAwards19. 



2019 Cllr Awards Winners

*Additional information on individual winners is available upon request.


Rural Community Champion

Cllr Elena Whitham – East Ayrshire Council

Highly commended: Cllr Euan Jardine – Scottish Borders Council


Urban Community Champion

Cllr Chris Cullen – South Ayrshire Council


Champion for Education

Cllr Fay Sinclair – Fife Council


Environmental Impact

Cllr Martha Wardrop – Glasgow City Council


Lifetime Contribution

Cllr Robert Aldridge – City of Edinburgh Council


New Councillor of the Year

Cllr Joe Fagan – South Lanarkshire Council


Leader of the Year

Cllr John Alexander – Dundee City Council


About the Award categories

Urban Community Champion: for councillors in predominantly urban constituencies who have gone above and beyond in supporting their communities


Rural Community Champion: for councillors in predominantly rural constituencies who have gone above and beyond in supporting their communities


Innovation and Digital: for councillors who have been particularly innovative or inclusive in helping to roll out digital solutions *The winner of this Award will be unveiled at a later date, tbc.


Champion for Education: for councillors who have performed outstanding work in the field of education


Environmental Impact to celebrate councillors who have made an outstanding contribution to their local or wider environments


Lifetime Contribution: for councillors who have gone above and beyond for their communities over an extended period of time


New Councillor of the Year: for recently elected councillors who are already making a noticeable impact in their communities in a short time


Leader of the Year: to celebrate the work of an exceptional Council Leader