England & Wales Press Releases

2017 C’llr Award winners unveiled

Media contact: Jen Pufky

Telephone: 07825 617 927

Email: [email protected]



For Immediate Release



Leading councillors honoured for their work


The LGiU and CCLA are delighted to unveil the winners of the 2017 C’llr Achievement Awards, the only national awards ceremony to honour the work of councillors.


The top prize for Leader of the Year went to Cllr Peter Fleming OBE of Sevenoaks District Council. Cllr Lauren Mitchell of Ashfield Council walked away with the Young Councillor of the Year prize and Cllr Mohammed Amran of Bradford City Council was honoured with the Community Champion Award. This year’s iESE Finance and Transformation Award went to Cllr Chris Ready of Wigan Council. The full list of winners is included below.


The eighth annual Awards Ceremony, kindly supported by CCLA, the City of London Corporation, iESE and Mears Group, was held on Tuesday evening (November 7th) against the backdrop of the Guildhall’s Livery Hall in London. With over 200 nominations, a record amount for the Awards, competition was extremely tight this year. The winners were selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.


Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU said: “We are delighted to unveil the winners of the 2017 C’llr Awards, a collection of individuals who showcase the instrumental role that councillors play in our daily lives, making our communities places where we all want to live.


Year after year we take the time to honour the dedicated work of councillors from across the country because so often it goes unrecognised. Despite ever tightening budgets, councils continue to ensure that essential services are delivered on the ground, day after day. They play a crucial role in keeping our communities connected, and safe. Celebrating their achievements is more important than ever.


I would like to extend my most sincere congratulations to all of the winners and thank them for their commitment to local government. We look forward to hearing more about their continued accomplishments in future.”




Notes to editors


About LGiU

The Local Government Information Unit (LGiU) is a think tank and membership body with over 200 councils and other organisations subscribing to our networks. We work to strengthen local democracy and put citizens in control of their own lives, communities and local services. For more information, visit lgiu.org.



About CCLA

This year’s C’llr Awards are made possible thanks to the generous support of our founding sponsors CCLA. CCLA is a leading specialist fund manager for local authorities and charities. When they began sponsoring the C’llr Achievement Awards they had 22 local authority accounts. Today they have 467 and this number is growing every month. They are owned by their clients – their mission is to serve the whole sector, regardless of size.



About the Awards

The LGiU’s eighth annual C’llr Awards ceremony celebrates the amazing work being done by councillors across England and Wales. Past winners can be found here. Rules for the Awards can be found here. Additional information on the C’llr Awards can be found here. Follow #CllrAwards17 for all updates.



2017 C’llr Awards Winners

*Additional information on individual winners is available upon request.


Leader of the Year

Cllr Peter Fleming OBE, Sevenoaks District Council

Cllr Darren Rodwell, London Borough of Barking & Dagenham Council (Honourable mention)



Community Champion

Cllr Mohammed Amran, Bradford City Council



Young Councillor of the Year

Cllr Lauren Mitchell, Ashfield Council



iESE’s Finance and Transformation Award

Cllr Chris Ready, Wigan Council



Health and Care Award

Cllr Susan Little, Thurrock Council

Cllr Maureen Worby, London Borough of Barking & Dagenham Council (Honourable mention)



Technology and Digital Award

Cllr John Chilver, Buckinghamshire County Council



Place-shaping and Environment Award

Cllr Alan Clark, Nottingham City Council (In Memoriam)