England & Wales Press Releases

2015 C’llr Award winners revealed

Media contact: Jen Pufky

Telephone: 07825 617 927

Email: [email protected]



2015 C’llr Award winners revealed

Councillors from across the UK honoured for their work


The LGiU and CCLA are delighted to reveal the winners of the 2015 C’llr Achievement Awards.


The coveted Leader of the Year award went to Cllr Tudor Evans of Plymouth City Council. Cllr Jason Kitcat of Brighton & Hove City Council took away the Judges Special Award and Cllr Lyle Davy of Pendle Borough Council won Young Councillor of the Year. The full list of winners is available on our website here and below.


The sixth annual Awards Ceremony was held on Monday evening (March 2nd) at the Lord Mayor’s Parlour, Westminster City Council. The Awards are the only national ceremony to honour the hard work of councillors from across the country that often goes unrecognised.


With nearly 200 nominations, a record amount for the Awards, competition was extremely tight this year. The winners were selected by a group of judges made up of local government experts and councillors.


Jonathan Carr-West, Chief Executive, LGiU said: “It is a real privilege to honour the outstanding efforts of these Councillors who work day in and day out to make our communities healthier, our streets safer and our public services stronger.


The 2015 C’llr Award winners have set the bar for all Councillors with their exemplary leadership and passion for change. We congratulate them and look forward to hearing about their future success.”











Notes to editors


About LGiU

The Local Government Information Unit (LGiU) is a think tank and membership body with 200 councils subscribing to our networks. We work to strengthen local democracy and put citizens in control of their own lives, communities and local services. For more information, visit lgiu.org.


About CCLA

CCLA has a 50 year heritage of managing funds for local authorities and has recently launched the Public Sector Deposit Fund. Designed with guidance from the Local Government Association (LGA), the fund offers local authorities a highly competitive, easy access, low risk cash management solution. For more information, visit http://www.psdf.co.uk.



Young Councillor of the Year Award

Cllr Lyle Davy, Pendle Borough Council



Leader of the Year Award

Cllr Tudor Evans, Plymouth City Council



Innovation Achievement of the Year Award

Cllr Val Gibson, Wolverhampton City Council

Cllr Gavin Edwards, London Borough of Southwark (Honourable mention)



Judges’ Special Award for Contribution to Local Government

Cllr Jason Kitcat, Brighton & Hove City Council



Wellbeing Champion of the Year

Cllr Ellie Robinson, London Borough of Newham

Cllr Janet Daby, London Borough of Lewisham (Honourable mention)



Community Champion of the Year Award

Cllr Jackie Meldrum, London Borough of Lambeth



CCLA Local Growth Achievement of the Year

Cllr Kevin Bentley, Essex County Council



Partnership Achievement of the Year Award

Cllr Darren Clifford, Lancashire County Council



DCLG Neighbourhood Planner of the Year

Cllr Gordon Nicolson OBE, Eden District Council



Bruce-Lockhart Membership Scholarship

Cllr Theo Blackwell, London Borough of Camden