England & Wales Democracy, devolution and governance

Local elections: the facts


LGiU infographic

elections 2014 (1)

Be a part of Election Night (and Day) Coverage 

On Election Day, Thursday 22 May and the following Friday.  You can join LGiU’s Network of Count Correspondents helping us bring the fastest, most accurate coverage in local government.

Lists of councils holding elections

32 London Boroughs have all their seats up for election

Barking and Dagenham
 Hammersmith and Fulham
 Kensington and Chelsea
Kingston upon Thames
 Richmond upon Thames
 Tower Hamlets
 Waltham Forest


One third of seats in all 36 Mets are up for election

Barnsley Birmingham Bolton Bradford
Bury Calderdale Coventry Doncaster
Dudley Gateshead Kirklees Knowsley
Leeds Liverpool Manchester Newcastle
North Tyneside Oldham Rochdale Rotherham
St Helens Salford Sandwell Sefton
Sheffield Solihull South Tyneside Stockport
Sunderland Tameside Trafford Walsall
Wakefield Wigan Wirral Wolverhampton

Nineteen unitaries are holding elections, 17 by thirds  Slough has and Milton Keynes are electing whole councils.

Blackburn w Darwen Bristol Derby
Halton Hartlepool Hull
Milton Keynes NE Lincolnshire Peterborough
Plymouth Portsmouth Reading
Slough Southampton Southend-on-Sea
Swindon Thurrock Warrington

65 district councils have one third of their seats up for election.

Amber Valley Basildon Basingstoke and Deane Bassetlaw
Brentwood Broxbourne Burnley Cambridge
Burnley Cambridge Cannock Chase Carlisle
Castle Point Cherwell Chorley Colchester
Craven Crawley Daventry Eastleigh
Elmbridge Epping Forest Exeter Gloucester
Great Yarmouth Harlow Harrogate Havant
Hertsmere Huntingdonshire Hyndburn Ipswich
Lincoln Maidstone Mole Valley Newcastle-under-Lyme
N Hertfordshire Norwich Pendle Preston
Purbeck Redditch Reigate and Banstead Rochford
Rossendale Rugby Runnymede Rushmore
St Albans South Cambridgeshire South Lakeland Stevenage
Stratford-on-Avon Stroud Tamworth Tandridge
Tunbridge Wells Watford Welwyn Hatfield W Lancashire
W Oxfordshire Weymouth and Portland Winchester Woking
Worcester Worthing Wyre Forest

Hart and Three Rivers have all their seats up for election.  Adur, Cheltenham, Fareham, Gosport, Hastings, Nuneaton and Bedworth, and Oxford have half their seats up for election.