LGIU England & CCLA Cllr Awards 2020

About the Awards

Now more than ever we need to honour the unsung heroes of local government who have kept England afloat during the pandemic. The LGIU and CCLA Cllr Awards are the only awards showcasing the important work of councillors and the highlight of the year for elected members across England! This year there will be two new categories to recognise collaborative working as well as councillors who have acted as a community leader during the coronavirus health crisis.

Previous winners of the awards include Lord Peter Smith, Marion Brighton OBE, Darren Rodwell, Peter Fleming OBE, Sharon Taylor and Gordon Nicholson OBE.

Due to the ongoing health crisis, this year’s awards will be held virtually. The virtual ceremony will take place in late autumn and winners will be announced on the night.

Keep an eye out for more information about how to access the live stream.

Nominations open!


There are 9 categories for the LGIU & CCLA Cllr Awards 2020. Please note you can enter the same councillor into as many categories as you like (as long as they meet the criteria for that award), but you can only nominate the same councillor once per category.

For a full list of rules, please click here. We strongly recommend reading these before submitting any nominations.

Image by Christine Aubé from Pixabay

Our partners

This year’s awards are only possible thanks to the generous support of our founding partners CCLA, who are working with us for the 11th year in a row.


The winner in each category will be chosen by our esteemed judging panel, comprised of senior councillors and officers as well as external stakeholders. Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in November.

Useful information


LGIU & CCLA Cllr Awards 2019

Past winners