England & Wales Personal and organisational development

LGiU & CCLA C’llr Achievement Awards Winners Announced

Congratulations to this year’s LGiU & CCLA C’llr Achievement Award winners and to all those who were shortlisted and nominated. The winners were announced last night in the Lord Mayor’s Parlour at Westminster City Hall.


Whenever we run the C’llr Awards we are humbled by the dedication, hard work and ingenuity displayed by councillors in service of their communities.


Elected members play many vital roles, as local leaders, as drivers of innovation, as champions of local business and enterprise, and as supporters of vulnerable people. This has taken on even greater importance as local government is currently under real pressure on multiple fronts.


We look to local government to help us overcome some of the serious challenges we face as a society, and though there are far fewer resources available councillors up down the country are working tirelessly to find ways to continue serving their citizens.


Yet these important public figures are too often undervalued and underappreciated, which is precisely why we set up the C’llr Achievement Awards and are especially grateful to our sponsors, CCLA for their continued support. This is the only awards scheme that celebrates elected members. Though it cannot fully do justice to the work they do, we hope that it goes some way towards giving them the recognition they deserve.


As ever, there was an impressive field of candidates and the judges had some really tough decisions to make. But they had to be made and we are delighted to announce that the winners are as follows:


Leader of the Year: Cllr Tudor Evans, Plymouth City Council


Young Councillor of the Year: Cllr Lyle Davy, Pendle Borough Council


Judge’s Special Award for Contribution to Local Government: Cllr Jason Kitcat, Brighton & Hove City Council


CCLA Local Growth Award: Cllr Kevin Bentley, Essex County Council


DCLG Neighbourhood Planner of the Year Award: Cllr Gordon Nicolson OBE, Eden District Council


Wellbeing Champion of the Year: Cllr Ellie Robinson, London Borough of Newham


Innovation Achievement of the Year: Val Gibson, Wolverhampton City Council


Partnership Achievement of the Year: Cllr Darren Clifford, Lancashire County Council


Community Champion of the Year: Jackie Meldrum, London Borough of Lambeth


Bruce-Lockhart Member Scholarship: Cllr Theo Blackwell, London Borough of Camden