LGIU is run by our members. Every member organisation has the opportunity to send a representative to the Management Assembly.

Our Board members are elected from the management assembly. The Assembly and the Board set our priorities and provide us with guidance, advice and insight.

Our 2021-2023 Board

Cllr Michael Payne, Chair of LGIU, Deputy Leader of Gedling Borough Council
Cllr Tudor Evans, Leader of Plymouth City Council
Cllr Alex Hollingsworth, Oxford City Council
Cllr Amanda Hopgood, Leader of Durham Country Council
Cllr Abdul Jabbar, Cabinet Member for Finance & Corporate Resources, Oldham Council
Cllr Jayne McCoy, Sutton Council
Cllr Neil Nerva, Brent Council
Mike Short, Deputy Head of Local Government, UNISON
Cllr Linda Taylor, Leader of Cornwall Council

Board members are both directors of the company and charitable trustees registered with Companies’ House (reg no: 1872218) and the Charity Commission (reg no: 1113495).

Board members have a duty to protect the interest of the LGIU. Day to day running is delegated to our Chief Executive, Jonathan Carr-West.

Memorandum and articles of association

The newer members of the LGIU family have different governance arrangements.

LGIU International

LGIU recently set up LGIU International Limited as the focus for our international work. LGIU International is a wholly owned subsidiary of LGIU and operates LGIU Ireland, LGIU Scotland.