England & Wales Personal and organisational development

C’llr Achievement Awards 2012


LGiU and CCLA are excited to announce that the C’llr Achievement Awards are now open for entries for the 2012 round.

Now in their third year, the C’llr Achievement Awards are here to recognise the fantastic work that councillors do to serve their communities and highlight areas of best practice and innovation.

We have some exciting new developments this year, including three new categories. There are 11 awards in total, which we will feature in the coming weeks on the LGiU Blog. They are:

The Bruce-Lockhart Member Scholarship is a particularly special award that comes with a £10,000 bursary for the winning councillor. This award, supported by Kent, Essex and East Sussex Councils, is in recognition of the outstanding contribution to Local Government of Lord Sandy Bruce-Lockhart, the former Chairman of the Local Government Association and Leader of Kent County Council.

The ‘Bruce-Lockhart Member Scholarship’ will recognise and reward leadership potential in local government and be awarded to elected members who demonstrate the potential to develop into leadership positions in the future.

You can find all details of the categories and how to enter on the LGiU website: www.lgiu.org/cllrawards

All awards are free to enter, and we welcome nominations from anyone, including councillors, council officers and members of the public. The closing date for entries is 5pm, Friday December 30, 2011. Awards will be given at a ceremony in London in February 2012. 

Please email awards@lgiu.org with any questions